Box Office Predictions (26-28th July)

I don’t see anything special happening this weekend as we all know who’s going to win out. I am of course referring to The Wolverine, the only big player releasing this weekend. What I am interested in seeing is how well the returning films do on their second weekend. How will The Conjuring hold up to a second weekend? Because the The Purge dropped massively, and of course we have the other three releases. Look on for my analysis and go out to see some films. And I still haven’t forgotten about Pacific Rim!

19-21-banner

Returning Films

Last weekend we saw four count them four new releases, most which pretty much failed. The Conjuring will probably do well on its second weekend as it has been holding well in the week but horror films do seem to drop off big in their second weekends, look for $19M. The other three films though haven’t done so great since their initial weekend with Turbo barely beating Grown Ups 2 and Pacific Rim holding far better than both RED 2 and R.I.P.D.

New Films

The Wolverine

The Wolverine - poster

Plot:

Hugh Jackman returns as Wolverine in this sequel to the member of the X-Men’s first solo outing. Mark Bomback and The Usual Suspects’ Christopher McQuarrie penned the script, which takes its inspiration from the Chris Claremont/Frank Miller Marvel miniseries from the 1980s dealing with the character’s adventures in Japan as he fights ninjas in the ceremonial garb of the samurai. Knight and Day’s James Mangold directs.

Analysis:

Whether this film is good or bad people will go out in droves to see The Wolverine (including me). So with that in mind how much will this film actually make? I hate to bring it up but Origins Wolverine did make a whopping $85M in its first weekend, wow! But dropped off nearly 70% in its second weekend which is bad. My prediction is $75M.

My Prediction

  1. The Wolverine:   -$75M
  2. The Conjuring:   -$19M
  3. Despicable Me 2:   -$13M
  4. Turbo:   -$11M
  5. Grown Ups 2:   -$10M
  6. Pacific Rim:   -$10M
  7. RED 2:   -$9M
  8. R.I.P.D:   -$7M
  9. The Heat:   -$5M
  10. World War Z:   -$3M

 

Well that’s my views. Now what do you think about this weekend and its new releases?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Tim The Film Guy

Very opinionated about films!

15 responses to “Box Office Predictions (26-28th July)”

  1. Nick Powell says :

    I have Wolverine at $68M

    Like

  2. sanclementejedi says :

    We are going to see the Conjuring this weekend so I can cry like a little girl.

    Like

  3. Parlor of Horror says :

    Maybe Wolverine will grab some of the Kung-Fu movie fans and have a big opening but I don’t see it lasting very long. I just dont see the buzz and chatter about this movie and I for one, am getting tired of the cookie-cutter plots in most of the superhero movies these days.

    Like

  4. ruth says :

    I think it’ll be Wolvie against all those demons in The Conjuring this weekend. We’ll see if he could claw his way to the box office 😀

    Like

  5. boxofficebuzzab says :

    I also think Wolverine will perform well this weekend. I’m looking forward to seeing it, and I hope it will be good!

    Like

  6. Gene says :

    Good call on Turbo’s opening numbers by the way. I was way over and you were just off by like 3 or 4M i think.

    Like

Leave a comment