The Raid 2: Berandal (Trailer #2) Review

First trailer review of 2014! Yeah! And it’s a good one. The sequel to 2012’s Raid Redemption has been on my radar for a while now and this trailer doesn’t disappoint, its quick, its action packed and it looks so damn cool. Watched the trailer a few times now and I cannot wait, its on my top ten most anticipated films of this year and nothing will change that, least not this trailer. The action scene, the fight scenes and pace was all stellar, and the music fits so well, it builds and builds and builds just like they’ll fight and fight and fight. I will show the trailer, my favourite scenes and talk further into my review. If you don’t like elaborate fight scenes, loud action and well blood drenched fists then this just isn’t for you, it is however for me. Enjoy the review and please tell me your initial reactions to this new trailer, more so if you disagree.

“You can’t know where I am. And I can’t be seen anywhere near you.”

The-Raid-2-banner

My Score: A

Release date: 28th March 2014

Plot:

His family at risk, Rama has only one choice to protect his infant son and wife: He must go undercover to enter the criminal underworld himself and climb through the hierarchy of competing forces until it leads him to the corrupt politicians and police pulling the strings at the top of the heap. And so Rama begins a new odyssey of violence, a journey that will force him to set aside his own life and history and take on a new identity as the violent offender “Yuda.” In prison he must gain the confidence of Uco – the son of a prominent gang kingpin – to join the gang himself, laying his own life on the line in a desperate all-or-nothing gambit to bring the whole rotten enterprise to an end.

What I liked

#7. New Dress Code for Knife Fights

The-Raid-2-train-knife-fight

Use a gun! Plenty of these scenes shown in this trailer, you know the opposing side standing ominously but I think this is the same fight with that kick ass woman so it gets the entry. Later scene will be included later.

#6. Hello Sexy Ladies!

The-Raid-2-sexy-dancers

Well they certainly know their target audience.

Got nothing else to say so enjoy the picture.

#5. CAR FIGHT!

The-Raid-2-car-fight

The first film prided itself on amazing choreography especially in those tight corridors and crowded rooms. A car mind you is much smaller and I can only imagine hilarity to ensue.

#4. Muddy Prison Fight!

The-Raid-2-muddy-prison-fight

What a wet, dirty mess (Oh My!). Riot police and prisoners should be a fun match up, I do normally like a one on one or few vs. many but it looks fun.

#3. Let’s Hear The Snap

The-Raid-2-femme-fatale

Ah the strong lady killers, we need more of them (in films) and I am glad to say that the Raid 2 adds this hammer wielding femme fatale.

#2. OH DAMN!

The-Raid-2-baseball-bat-fight

Love that I got this shot perfect, right on the head with a baseball bat. OOHF that looks painful and the fight looks real fun. Bring on March.

#1. THE TENSION!!!

The-Raid-2-fighting-dual

The anticipation is killing me! Look at the way they build this up, slow shuffle with fighting stance, the only two in the room and the kitchen has so many weapon opportunities. By the way I counted and there are 10 fight scenes in this trailer alone, I know there are way more. I can’t wait!

New Poster

The-Raid-2-poster

 

Well that’s my views. Now what do you think about this newest trailer?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Tim The Film Guy

Very opinionated about films!

29 responses to “The Raid 2: Berandal (Trailer #2) Review”

  1. paigeaddams says :

    That looks like a fun movie! 😀 I never saw the first one, but now I’m going to have to make that a priority on my to-watch list. I definitely want to see this second one when it comes out too. 🙂

    Like

  2. Dan says :

    Anticipation levels just went through the roof! 🙂

    Like

  3. daviruz says :

    I had to watch the first movie a few days back and my oh my i was darn impressed. Damn it!!! Can’t wait for Raid 2 😀

    Like

  4. sidekickreviews says :

    The trailer looks great. The scope is a lot bigger, yet there’s still those fights in confined spaces in the car and subway train. The scene in the prison yard looks pretty epic.

    Like

  5. ruth says :

    So now you must think Jakarta men are so darn bad ass and the ladies nice to look at, right? Well, you won’t be wrong 😉

    Like

  6. The Celtic Predator says :

    Also, there are already quite a few reviews up on Rottentomatoes from the film’s Sundance Festival debut. http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/the_raid_2/

    Like

  7. The Celtic Predator says :

    My most anticipated fight is definitely Rama versus the buzz-cut guy. They built up that face-off pretty well. From what I’ve read, that character is supposed to function as the Mad Dog of the sequel and act as the main physical threat for our hero. I also approve of the addition of female action characters as well. Adds another level of visual variety at the very least — less of a sausage fest! :p

    Like

  8. jjames36 says :

    I haven’t seen the first movie, but this trailer does look pretty sweet!

    Like

  9. The Geek Mind says :

    I cannot, CANNOT wait for this film! Absolutely loved the first one.

    Like

  10. le0pard13 says :

    Can’t wait!!!

    Like

  11. theipc says :

    I still need to see the first one…

    Like

  12. lukebbtt says :

    I love how there is no ‘What I Didn’t Like’ scenes. I cannot wait for this film. I am liking that it hasn’t tried to be the first film again, but seems like a totally different movie altogether.

    Like

Leave a comment