Fantastic Four (Trailer #1) Review

Well, well, well, look who’s come out to play. About time they showed something. Had no pictures, no footage, not even any official concept art. If I wasn’t such a massive nerd I wouldn’t even know this was coming out. Anyway it’s here now so let’s review. The film is definitely a far more serious affair than its predecessor, that can’t be a bad thing. The first half of this trailer is Interstellar, shockingly so. The cast looks good, visuals look okay but too little footage to really judge. Hated that voice over! So generic, could have been for anything. Enjoy the review and please tell me your initial reactions to this new trailer, more so if you disagree.

fantastic-four-2015-banner

My Score: C+

Release date: 7th August 2015

Plot:

FANTASTIC FOUR, a contemporary re-imagining of Marvel’s original and longest-running superhero team, centers on four young outsiders who teleport to an alternate and dangerous universe, which alters their physical form in shocking ways. Their lives irrevocably upended, the team must learn to harness their daunting new abilities and work together to save Earth from a former friend turned enemy.

What I liked

#4. NERRRRRRDD!!!!

Fantastic-Four-Miles-Teller-NERD

Haha I wouldn’t normally mock a fellow nerd but the look on his face. I couldn’t resist. Am not sure if it’s a stereo type or not I just think it’s hilarious.

#3. Dark Times Ahead

Fantastic-Four-scientific-accident

Still super vague on how they get their powers or what the hell is going on in general. But they do appear to be taking it seriously at the very least. Dark and realistic, hope it sticks to that. Can’t take anymore “humour” from this franchise.

#2. Thank God for CGI

Fantastic-Four-the-thing

I very rarely feel good about replacing practical with CGI but this is an exception. Nobody can blame the last Visual effects team for The Thing, it was the best they could do with practical. But it was bad.  So to fix that problem you have to turn to CGI, which is hopefully miles better. But again we need to see more.

#1. The Fantastic Four!

Fantastic-Four-group-photo

Easily the best shot of the trailer, you blinked you’d missed it. Still no idea what’s going on. Got absolutely nothing. If anything this trailer somehow raised more questions. Looks pretty.

What I Didn’t Like

#2. McConaughey Checking his Fields

Fantastic-Four-corn-fields

The narration, the corn, the cinematography, the scenery, all Interstellar. It’s really hard not to see the similarities. And when you are starting a new franchise, releasing a film in 2015, and obviously need to stand out you really shouldn’t be looking like a massive blockbuster from last year.

#1. THE GREEN SCREEN!

Fantastic-Four-dodgy-CGI

How did anyone let this into a trailer? It looks like something from Spy Kids. Hope this was just a lapse of concentration and unfinished CGI work. So bad, just so terribly bad.

New Poster

fantastic-four-2015-poster-reboot

 

Well that’s my views. Now what do you think about this newest trailer?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Tim The Film Guy

Very opinionated about films!

34 responses to “Fantastic Four (Trailer #1) Review”

  1. Tom says :

    I couldn’t be more indifferent to this production, honestly. The comparisons to Interstellar are definitely warranted — I find it pretty pathetic they had to do that. You just know it’s done to attract as big an audience as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jack Flacco says :

    Looking forward to this one, even though I liked the original!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sweetarchive says :

    I’m not a big fan of comics based films (except for Tank Girl) , but I do like the cast. After Whiplash, Miles Teller is awesome in my eyes, and Kate Mara is also a pretty great actress. Your’e right, though… the voice over is very annoying! Great info 🙂

    Like

  4. thelastsongiheard says :

    It looks pretty good, but then, compared to the first movie anything would be good!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ruth says :

    Hey Tim! I actually didn’t care for the trailer. I actually didn’t care for this project either but I thought maybe the trailer would change my mind. Nope, it was way too serious for its own good.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. atothewr says :

    Didn’t even know it was coming out this year. Thanks for letting me in on that. Trailer looks good, but it didn’t have a wow factor at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hypersonic55 says :

    Cool review yo, I think we have similar thoughts on this. I too thought that the voiceover was a bit generic and in this day and age of films it is unnecessary. I prefer voiceovers that come from characters in the film, like when it is an actual line from inside the film (like Ultron from the Avengers 2 trailer). Overall I thought the trailer was fine, nothing mind-blowing or crazy exciting, but as a teaser its done a better job than what Sony did with the Amazing Spider-Man films.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. williamjepma says :

    I think my feelings on this can be best described with ‘meh.’ I like what the director seems to want to do with the characters, and I’m a big fan of the cast they have, but nothing about this trailer really grabbed me. I’ll be watching it regardless, so hopefully it turns out to be surprisingly great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tim The Film Guy says :

      Meh seems to the average response. This might be the first superhero film I skip.

      Less about the film itself so much as I just don’t care about the fantastic four.

      Kind of lame compared to other heroes.

      Like

  9. Beer Movie says :

    I kind of like this trailer… but not really for a superhero film. Get me fired up for some awesomeness!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ian Coomber says :

    I was initially dubious when I heard there was going to be yet another rebooted franchise, but have to admit this trailer has has caught my interest and am now looking forward to it, especially after reading an interview saying that Cronenberg is a big influence.

    And the corn reminded me of 2009’s Star Trek trailer.

    Like

  11. sidekickreviews says :

    I’ve watched the trailer twice now and I can’t say that I’m excited. But I can’t say I’m disspointed either because I didn’t have much expectations haha. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Jay says :

    Wow, you pulled an awful lot of info from a tiny trailer. Good for you! I was just like “Is that the kid from Whiplash?”

    Liked by 1 person

  13. lukebbtt says :

    Looks very Nolan. (That isn’t necessarily a compliment – look at Transendence.)

    Liked by 1 person

  14. le0pard13 says :

    What theipc said.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Derek says :

    I have tried to keep an open mind about this film despite all the negatives that have been reported about it so I was pleasantly surprised by this trailer. Sure it had some problems (that voice over goes on way too long) but it looks interesting and the glimpses of powers looked OK if a little too brief.

    Like

  16. gilbertspeaks says :

    I have a feeling the grandsons will be dragging me to this one and I can’t wait

    Liked by 1 person

  17. theipc says :

    I watched this this morning – I thought it started strong but fizzled out by the end…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment