Movie News Report: He Lived Long and Prospered

Encase anyone was wondering I am still doing reviews but haven’t seen any new films recently and the new trailers have been poo. I will be watching and reviewing Chappie next week.

This is an end of the week wrap up of what has happened in the geeky world of movies. I took better notes this time so I have a more complete list of things that have happened. Sadly nothing of much note has happened in the world of movies. So this post is a bit more random. And of course the devastating news that Leonard Nimoy has passed away.

Also I’ll include some movie features I liked from the blogosphere. I follow a lot of nerds!

movie-report-banner

 

Leonard Nimoy: 1931 – 2015

RIP-leonard-Nimoy

Not how I wanted to start of this post at all. He was a very well loved member of the nerd community and will live on in all our memories. If you would like to read tributes to Leonard Nimoy I have put a link in the title to tweets from his friends and colleagues.

Futurama-spock

Rocky Spin Off ‘Creed’ Has a Plot

creed-movie-michael-b-jordan

Now to some happy news. Creed, the Rocky spin off film has finally been given a synopsis. I wouldn’t normally give two shakes about a spin off film but this has an excellent team around it. Written and Directed by Ryan Coogler (Fruitvale Station), the film is focused on Adonis Creed (Michael B. Jordan), the son of Rocky’s former rival-turned-friend Apollo Creed. Here is the synopsis.

Adonis Johnson (Jordan) never knew his famous father, world heavyweight champion Apollo Creed, who died before he was born. Still, there’s no denying that boxing is in his blood, so Adonis heads to Philadelphia, the site of Apollo Creed’s legendary match with a tough upstart named Rocky Balboa.

Once in the City of Brotherly Love, Adonis tracks Rocky (Stallone) down and asks him to be his trainer. Despite his insistence that he is out of the fight game for good, Rocky sees in Adonis the strength and determination he had known in Apollo—the fierce rival who became his closest friend. Agreeing to take him on, Rocky trains the young fighter, even as the former champ is battling an opponent more deadly than any he faced in the ring.

With Rocky in his corner, it isn’t long before Adonis gets his own shot at the title…but can he develop not only the drive but also the heart of a true fighter, in time to get into the ring?

Hans Zimmer Will Be King of DC Themes

At the Oscars Hans Zimmer was asked about his work on Batman V Superman and the future of DC films. The interview is hardly rock solid news but it’s interesting. Am sure at the very least he will be there for the creation of the themes and put a bit of help as the DC universe continues to grow. What do you guys think?

Dragonball Can Be Made Live Action?

I have heard about this project for a long time. But I’ve heard of several projects like it before, all have been similarly rubbish. This however gives me a good feeling about it. Don’t get me wrong it’s still weak but it’s the most impressive I’ve seen. That sadly includes…Dragonball: Evolution. I honestly cannot get over how bad that film was.

Rumours and international trailers fill out most of the other news so here are some things that made me laugh.

Madonna-no-capes-meme

dress-colour-cyclops-meme

 

Next time I will keep a note of my favourite stuff and the biggest news.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Tim The Film Guy

Very opinionated about films!

15 responses to “Movie News Report: He Lived Long and Prospered”

  1. Jules says :

    I will wait and see on the new Rocky deal. This basically looks like a mash up of Rocky IV and V. Also I did not see Burt Young included so far. Any Rocky without Burt Young does NOT get my endorsement.

    On a side note, while driving through Springfield IL last week, I saw I really touching roadside mural for Leonard Nemoy/Spock in front of a local (I believe) tattoo shop. Wish I would have snapped a picture of it.

    Like

  2. Hypersonic55 says :

    I was gutted to hear about Nimoy, I didn’t not expect that at all, very surreal. He was such a great man with an awesome screen presence. As for Hans Zimmer I hope he does a good job, he may be one of my all-time favourite composers, but I do like a little variation so I hope he makes all of these chaarcter seem different.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tim The Film Guy says :

      I highly doubt he’d compose them all. Its way too much work for 1 man. He’ll probably be the over seer of it all. Like he’s working with Junkie XL for Batman v superman. Can’t wait to hear that one 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Three Rows Back says :

    Great news about Zimmer being on board for the DC movies. As for Leonard Nimoy’s death, man. That came as a shock.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ruth says :

    Great roundup Tim! RIP Mr Nimoy. As a non-Trekkie, I still appreciate him and his legacy, we lost another great artist amongst us.

    On a lighter note, I have no problem w/ Zimmer scoring all of DC films, hey even if the movie sucks at least it’ll have a great soundtrack right? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beer Movie says :

    Thanks for the Creed news. Like you, I normally would not have been at all interested. But I am a huge Fruitvale Station fan, it was my #1 film of 2013. So can’t wait to see it. And didn’t realise Stallone’s Rocky was in it as a trainer. That could actually work pretty well.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. familymat1123 says :

    R.I.P. Mr. Spock. You will be missed. I bet Captain Kirk right now is sitting on the captain’s chair mourning about this.

    I don’t know about Dragonball Z being Live Action. If they make a good one then we can all forget about Evolution and pretend it never happened.

    I hope Chappie is good. District 9 was a great film and this gives me hope Chappie doesn’t suck. I heard a majority of moviegoers hated Elysium so I’m skipping Elysium!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sidekickreviews says :

    So sad about Nimoy. What a legend!

    Loving the re-team up of Coogler and Jordan. The synopsis sounds great too.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Fringe Void says :

    That Rocky spinoff could be good. I assume the “opponent more deadly than any [Rocky has] faced in the ring” is cancer?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment