The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014) Mini Review

This was fun, I really like watching Wes Anderson films because they take you to another world. He does that with all his films. The Grand Budapest Hotel should be out on DVD and VOD at the moment, it’s a fantastically quirky story about the hotels devoted concierge and his young apprentice lobby boy. The film is really fun and the all-star cast is stellar especially Ralph Fiennes, well done that man.

I’ll go into more detail below but give it a try, got trailers and images below. Check it all out and give me a like and a comment at the end.

Grand-Budapest-Hotel-banner

Plot:

The adventures of Gustave H, a legendary concierge at a famous hotel from the fictional Republic of Zubrowka between the first and second World Wars, and Zero Moustafa, the lobby boy who becomes his most trusted friend.

Tim’s Film Reviews Recommended

Story: 90%     Acting: 100%     Characters: 100%     Dialogue: 100%

Comedy/Drama: 90%     Style/Sound: 100%     Visuals: 90%

Total: 95%

Grand-Budapest-Hotel-Poster

It’s Wes Anderson from start to finish. The way its shot, the colours, the characters, it’s his unique style and I really enjoyed it. Now let’s talk the cast. I really liked this cast, all-star casts can be awful, but not this time, everyone important brings their A game, and the relationship between Monsieur Gustave and Zero is fantastic. You want to watch their incredible misadventures again and again. But the film also has some sad moments always balanced out with hilarity.

Grand-Budapest-Hotel-lobby-arrest

Trailer:

Spoilers!

My favourite scene would have to be either the prison escape, which was hilarious or when Willem Dafoe throws Jeff Goldblum’s cat out of the window. “Did he just throw my cat out of the window?”

GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL_426.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Tim The Film Guy

Very opinionated about films!

33 responses to “The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014) Mini Review”

  1. Victor De Leon says :

    Nice review, Tim. May watch this one eventually. Could it be the first Wes Anderson movie I may eventually like? We’ll see…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nostra says :

    One of my top 3 of last year. Saw it twice at the cinema and enjoyed it even more the second time around.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kristin says :

    I loved The Grand Budapest Hotel! So glad you enjoyed it, Tim, even with it not being an action or horror film. 😀 Would it make your top ten list for 2014?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hypersonic55 says :

    Cool review man, I really liked this film when I saw it last year. However it came out in the midst of so many other films that I keep forgettin that I saw it. That’s not to say it’s not good though, it was very funny, bizarre and well-acted with an incredible cast. That being said I do not think it’s the best Wes Anderson film and I like Moonrise Kingdom better! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Zoë says :

    Great review! I liked this one but was certainly not in love with it. Had a good laugh every time Brody was on screen and that music started up hahaha. Fiennes was just beyond amazing in this!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Genki Jason says :

    I saw this at a cinema which was packed and everybody was laughing heartily. It’s so dark and yet delightfully humorous because of Anderson’s sense of style and dry comedy. His films don’t always work for me but this one did!

    My favourite scene was the chase to the monastery and Gustave’s gentlemanly facade fraying!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. mlbradford says :

    Had th joy of watching this on an Emirates flight, which meant every time th word: ‘fuck’ was uttered, it came out as: ‘fmf’ & that replacement painting was just a blank canvas.
    Yes, Grand Budapest was, for me, th Best of 2014 – an ornate instant classic w so much to offer.
    Check this out:

    The Grand Budapest Hotel: At Last!


    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. gilbertspeaks says :

    This was one of my top favorites of the year. It reminds me of going to the Big Grand Hotels at Atlantic City during the early 50’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ruth says :

    Hi Tim! I like this one better than some other Wes films as it’s quirky, fast-paced and wholly entertaining! LOVE Ralph Fiennes’ casting here, hope he’d do more comedic stuff in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Three Rows Back says :

    What a lovely film this is. A real joy from start to finish and Fiennes is just superb.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. CMrok93 says :

    Fun, light, and whimsical. However, when it was all over, I kind of forgot about it. Good review Tim.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Keith says :

    Gustave H. rules the world.

    Like

  13. theipc says :

    I LOVED this movie!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Mark Walker says :

    Although I don’t agree with many that this is Anderson’s best film, I still thoroughly enjoyed. Great entertainment and nice run down in your review, Tim.

    Liked by 2 people

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Versatile Blogger Award | Back to the Viewer - April 14, 2015

Leave a comment