Box Office Predictions (06-08th Sep)

Sorry for the lack posts recently, I just got Total War: Rome II and yes I am addicted. Anyway this weekend we have Riddick coming out and I am surprisingly excited to see it. I also don’t see any other film coming close so it should be a nice win for Diesel this weekend. Go watch some movies!

Riddick-banner

New Films

Riddick

Riddick-Poster

Plot:

Left for dead on a sun-scorched planet, Riddick finds himself up against an alien race of predators. Activating an emergency beacon alerts two ships: one carrying a new breed of mercenary, the other captained by a man from Riddick’s past.

Analysis:

Zero competition, Diesel is coming off A LOT of success and it has a lot of nerd cred currently. I think it will do really well; low budget anything over $20M will be a success. Reviews are actually pretty good as well which I was so not expecting! Screw it I am saying $26M.

My Prediction

  1. Riddick:   -$26M
  2. The Butler:   -$11M
  3. We’re the Millers:   -$9M
  4. Instructions Not Included:   -$9M
  5. One Direction:   -$4M

 

Well that’s my views. Now what do you think about this weekend and its new releases?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Tim The Film Guy

Very opinionated about films!

14 responses to “Box Office Predictions (06-08th Sep)”

  1. verbalspew says :

    Looking forward to seeing Riddick, if it’s as good as Pitch Black I will be delighted. And it’ll be nice to see Katee Sackhoff.

    I got Rome II today myself, going to get stuck in tonight. GOODBYE WORLD! For at least a week anyway.

    Like

  2. sidekickreviews says :

    I just watched Pitch Black for the first time the other day. Great movie, I hope Riddick is even better.

    Like

  3. Kim @ Tranquil Dreams says :

    A French poster! Makes me feel all at home 😉 But, is it still “été” now? Getting so chilly! Joking aside, I’m going to try to see Riddick but I want to rewatch the previous few first 🙂 Love Vin Diesel!

    Like

  4. Parlor of Horror says :

    Saw Riddick last night; it was a throw back to Pitch Black – much better than Chronicles, IMO

    Like

  5. Nerdy Girl Ramblings says :

    I think you’re probably right, the only thing that concerns me is if Riddick can bring in the crowds after so long. I mean it’s been almost 10 years since Chronicles and what? 13/14 years since Pitch Black? Plus, from what I have heard, Riddick finished filming almost 2 years ago and is just getting released now? I hope it’s worth the wait 🙂 P.S. I’ve been playing Tomb Raider & re-watching/marathoning the Buffy the Vampire Slayer series on Netflix on top of work and life… so I totally get it haha. I have been the absolute worst with posting this last month.

    Like

  6. Rincewind says :

    Am also so excited about the new Riddick, I hope they can pull it off.

    Like

Leave a comment